Print this page

About

Conditions of the XVI InternationalTchaikovsky CompetitionFrequently Asked QuestionsDownloads

The International Tchaikovsky Competition, first held more than 50 years ago, is not only a valuable asset of Russian musical culture but is also one of the major events in the international music community.
The International Tchaikovsky Competition is held once every four years.

The first Competition, in 1958, included two specialties – Piano and Violin. Beginning with the second Competition, in 1962, the Cello specialty was added, and the Voice specialty (where separate prizes were provided for the Best Male and Female Vocal Performance) was introduced during the third Competition in 1966.

In  2011,  the  Competition was first held in two cities, Moscow and Saint Petersburg. The jubilee XV International Tchaikovsky Competition was timed to the 175th anniversary of the birth of the great Russian composer.

In 2018, the International Tchaikovsky Competition reached its 60th anniversary. Throughout its history, the Competition has given international fame to outstanding representatives of the performing arts of the modern era.

An artistic competition is a traditional starting point for gifted young musicians as it gives them a chance to encounter the admiration of the general public, gain recognition from the global professional community, and start a brilliant international career. In Russia the Competition is considered a landmark of national musical culture. Each of its editions is one of the key events in the social and cultural life of the country.

Biography of  Tchaikovsky

The main purpose of the musical competition is revealing new talent.

Past editions have spawned such renowned musicians as pianists Van Cliburn, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Eliso Virsaladze, Mikhail Pletnev, Grigory Sokolov, Boris Berezovsky, Denis Matsuev, Daniil Trifonov; violinists Gidon Kremer, Victoria Mullova, Vladimir Spivakov, Viktor Tretiakov, Pavel Milyukov; cellists Mario Brunello, David Geringas, Nathaniel Rosen, Natalia Gutman, Antonio Meneses and singers Vladimir Atlantov, Elena Obraztsova, Yulia Matochkina, Evgeny Nesterenko, Paata Burchuladze and Deborah Voigt.

The competition was held in Moscow and St. Petersburg from June 17 to June 29, 2019.



A winner of the Tchaikovsky Competition holds one of the most respected titles there is. I warmly congratulate all of the victors and wish you ongoing success. There is simply no doubt that you will achieve it. Your skill and talent will open the doors to leading concert halls and theatres. In this you will be helped along by the revival of one of the Competition’s traditions, which is arranging concert tours for its winners.
Vladimir PutinPresident of Russia
Everything will be done to ensure that the Competition takes place in an open and friendly atmosphere, so that the young people coming to the Competition feel comfortable.
Olga GolodetsDeputy Prime Minister
of the Russian Federation.
Co-Chair of the Organizing Committee
We shall do everything in our power to assure that these wonderful young musicians, who are already full-fledged artists, will have a chance over the next three or four years to perform in Russia—not only in Moscow and Saint Petersburg, but also in Russia’s regions—as well as in Europe, North America, Asia, and in a great many concert halls, theatres, and festivals. This is our commitment, we have promised it, and we will definitely make it happen.
Valery GergievArtistic and General Director
of the Mariinsky Theatre.
Co-Chair of the Organizing Committee
The audience for the Competition has grown unbelievably. And this is a fantastic result. The broadcasts have raised its profile, increased awareness of the Competition throughout the world of music, and will draw future competitors to it.
Alexei ShalashovGeneral Director
of the Moscow State Filarmonia
Member of the Organizing Committee
As any athlete looks forward to the Olympics, any musician looks forward to this unique contest, the International Tchaikovsky Competition.
Denis MatsuevMember of the Organizing Committee, Chair of Jury (piano)
I was inspired by the playing of all the contestants, especially in the final performances with an orchestra when the musician must showcase his individuality. There is no time then to discuss details the way you might with your pianist. There is just a single rehearsal where you have to work out how to take things with the orchestra in hand and give the most effective performance possible.
Jan VoglerJury member (cello)
I congratulate not only those who made the finals, but also all the participants. The standard was exceptional.
Mischa MaiskyJury member (cello)
Every one of the finalists will be a major musician.
Michel BéroffJury member (piano)
The professional level of the competitors was extraordinarily high. I am very pleased with the results of the Competition.
Martin EngströmChair of Jury (Violin)
This is the world’s most significant competition for young musicians who perform classics.
Vladimir MedinskyMinister of Culture
of the Russian Federation

image/svg+xml

О конкурсе

Международный конкурс имени П. И. Чайковского является крупнейшим событием в мире классической музыки. Конкурс проводится раз в четыре года.

Первый Конкурс состоялся в 1958 году по двум специальностям - «фортепиано» и «скрипка». В 1962 году к ним была добавлена специальность «виолончель». Категория «сольное пение» (с отдельными премиями в номинациях мужской и женский вокал) появилась на третьем конкурсе в 1966 году.

В 2011 году Конкурс впервые прошел в двух городах - Москве и Санкт-Петербурге. Юбилейный XV Конкурс был приурочен к 175-летию со дня рождения великого русского композитора.

В 2018 году Конкурсу Чайковского исполнилось 60 лет. За свою историю Конкурс открыл миру имена выдающихся представителей исполнительского искусства современности.

Творческое состязание традиционно является стартовой площадкой для молодых одаренных музыкантов, дает им возможность обрести любовь публики и признание мирового профессионального сообщества, начать блестящую международную карьеру. В России Конкурс имеет статус национального достояния отечественной музыкальной культуры. Каждый раз его проведение становится одним из главных событий общественной и культурной жизни страны.

Главная цель музыкального состязания — выявление новых талантов

Призовые места Конкурса принесли мировую известность многим музыкантам, среди которых пианисты Ван Клиберн, Владимир Ашкенази, Джон Огдон, Элисо Вирсаладзе, Григорий Соколов, Михаил Плетнев, Борис Березовский, Денис Мацуев, Даниил Трифонов; скрипачи Гидон Кремер, Виктория Муллова, Владимир Спиваков, Виктор Третьяков, Олег Каган, Павел Милюков; виолончелисты Марио Брунелло, Давид Герингас, Наталия Гутман, Антонио Менезес, вокалисты Владимир Атлантов, Елена Образцова, Зураб Соткилава, Евгений Нестеренко, Паата Бурчуладзе, Дебора Войт, Хибла Герзмава, Юлия Маточкина.

XVII Международный конкурс имени П. И. Чайковского прошёл в Москве и Санкт-Петербурге с 19 июня по 1 июля 2023 года.

avatar
Это важнейший конкурс. Его значение переоценить трудно или даже невозможно. Здесь награждали рядом представителей России и Соединённых Штатов, России и Южной Кореи, России и Великобритании, России и Франции. Россия принимает у себя лучших молодых музыкантов. Вот в этом невероятная, я бы сказал, непреодолимая сила музыки. Поэтому подстроить музыку под процессы любого характера невозможно.
Наша публика и члены жюри имеют интернациональный состав. И они все огромные поклонники творчества Баха, Моцарта, Чайковского, Прокофьева. Нас это объединяет, мы не ищем способов, как отделить себя от других. Наоборот, мы всегда живем в одном общем неделимом пространстве.

Валерий Гергиев

Сопредседатель Оргкомитета XVII Международного конкурса им. П.И. Чайковского

avatar
Хочу выразить свою благодарность команде Валерия Абисаловича и всем участникам, для которых имя Петра Ильича Чайковского важнее сложностей, с которыми им предстояло столкнуться, чтобы приехать в Москву и Санкт-Петербург. Награда — это то, что будет с вами всегда на каждом выступлении, на каждой сцене. Ведь вы — лауреаты конкурса Чайковского.
Спасибо за ваш труд, смелость и победу. Трансляции за эти 2 недели набрали более 50 миллионов просмотров из 102 стран! Это самое главное, это — наша общая победа.

Ольга Любимова

Министр культуры Российской Федерации