Live Broadcasts


I believe that the Tchaikovsky Competition has a historic chance to host apolitically thinking young bright musicians, and they should think only about music, about the profession, about the future, about the composer. Rachmaninoff, Tchaikovsky, Chopin, Brahms, Bach. You are welcome. Choose your instrument, there will be an objective jury

Valery Gergiev

Co-Chairman of the Organizing Committee of the XVII International Tchaikovsky Competition
Valery Gergiev
The International Tchaikovsky Competition is one of the main events of social and cultural life in Russia

Olga Lyubimova

Minister of Culture of the Russian Federation
Olga Lyubimova

About the competition

The International Tchaikovsky Competition is one of the major events in the international music community. It is held once every four years

The first, in 1958, included two categories – piano and violin. Beginning with the second competition, in 1962, a cello category was added, and the vocal division was introduced during the third competition in 1966. In 1990, a fifth category was announced for the IX International Tchaikovsky Competition – a contest for violin makers which was held before the main competition.

In 2011, the Competition was first held in two cities, Moscow and St. Petersburg. The 15th, jubilee competition was timed to the 175th anniversary of the birth of the great Russian composer.

In 2018, the International Tchaikovsky Competition reached its 60th anniversary. Throughout its history, the Competition has given international fame to outstanding representatives of the performing arts of the modern era.

An artistic competition is a traditional starting point for gifted young musicians as it gives them a chance to encounter the admiration of an audience, be initiated into the worldwide professional community, and start a brilliant international career.

In Russia the Competition is considered a landmark of national musical culture. Each of its editions is one of the key events in the social and cultural life of the country.

The main purpose of the musical competition is revealing new talent

Past editions have spawned such renowned musicians as pianists Van Cliburn, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Mikhail Pletnev, Grigory Sokolov, Denis Matsuev, Daniil Trifonov; violinists Gidon Kremer, Victoria Mullova, Vladimir Spivakov, Viktor Tretiakov, Pavel Milyukov; cellists Mario Brunello, David Geringas, Natalia Gutman, Antonio Meneses and singers Vladimir Atlantov, Elena Obraztsova, Evgeny Nesterenko, Paata Burchuladze, Deborah Voigt, Yulia Matochkina, Ariunbaatar Ganbaatar.

The competition was held in Moscow and St. Petersburg from June 17 to June 29, 2019.