Online Exibition

The exhibition is brought to you by


  • background

    Vаn Cliburn (USA) – the 1st prize winner of the Piano Competition

  • background

    Solemn opening of the 1st International Tchaikovsky Competition
    Moscow Conservatory Grand Hall. March 18, 1958

  • background

    Elisabeth, Queen of Belgium, Special guest of the Competition, during audition of the participants

  • background

    Prize winners of the Violin Competition:
    Viktor Pikaizen, Joyce Flissler, Valery Klimov, Stefan Rukha, Мark Lubotsky, Zarius Shikhmurzaeva, Viktor Liberman, Valentin Zhuk

  • background

    Prize winners of the Violin Competition:
    Stefan Rukha (Romania, 3rd prize), Valery Klimov (USSR, 1st prize), Viktor Pikaizen (USSR, 2nd prize)


The International Tchaikovsky Competition is an outstanding and joyful event not only within our country, our art, but also of the entire world musical culture. With all our heart we welcome this international meeting of musicians, which will further strengthen friendly cultural relations between nations and will be a new serious step in the development of world musical culture.

Emil Gilels




  • 1st Prize

    Van Cliburn (USA)

  • 2nd Prize

    Lev Vlasenko (USSR)

    Liu Shi Kun (Cina)

  • 3rd Prize

    Naum Shtarkman (USSR)

  • 4th Prize

    Эдуард Миансаров (СССР)

  • 5th Prize

    Милена Моллова (Болгария)

  • 6th Prize

    Надя Гедда-Нова (Франция)

  • 7th Prize

    Тойоака Мацуура (Япония)

  • 8th  Prize

    Дэниэл Поллак (США)


  • 1st Prize

    Valery Klimov (USSR)

  • 2nd Prize

    Viktor Pikaizen (USSR)

  • 3rd Prize

    Stefan Rukha (Romania)

  • 4th Prize

    Марк Лубоцкий (СССР)

  • 5th Prize

    Виктор Либерман (СССР)

  • 6th Prize

    Валентин Жук (СССР)

  • 7th Prize

    Джойс Флисслер (США)

  • 8th Prize

    Зариус Шихмурзаева (СССР)


Emil Gilels (Chairman)

Дмитрий Кабалевский

Heinrich Neuhaus

Лев Оборин

Святослав Рихтер

Pavel Serebryakov

Boris Lyatoshinsky (USSR)

Sir Arthur Bliss (Great Britain)

Pancho Vladigerov (Bulgaria)

Camargo Guarnieri (Brazil)

George Georgescu (Romania)

Fernand Quinet (Belgium)

José Sequeira-Costa (Portugal)

Frantisek Maxian (Czechoslovakia)

Lajos Hernadi (Hungary)

Carlo Cecchi (Italy)

Henryk Sztompka (Poland)

Marguerite Long (France)

Joseph Marx (Austria)

David Oistrakh (Chairman)

Galina Barinova

Eugene Kapp

Leonid Kogan

Konstantin Mostras

Aram Khachaturian

Dmitry Tsyganov (USSR)

Grajina Bacevich (Poland)

Gioconda de Vito (Italy)

G Luecke (GDR)

Ma Xi Tsun (China)

Philip Newman (Great Britain)

Alexander Plocek (Czechoslovakia)

S Popov (Bulgaria)

Alfred Pochon (Switzerland)

Tauno Hanni-Kainen (Finland)

Ephraim Zimbalist (USA)

Alain Jourdan-Morange (France)